In Honor of St. Patricks Day – Revisiting the Leprechaun

Happy St. Patricks day to all my Irish Peeps! Especially those of you over in the land of Eire getting low…(see my last

To me it looked like a leprechaun to me

To me it looked like a leprechaun to me

post).

In honor of the holiday I thought I’d pay tribute to some magically delicious shenanigans that took place in my home town a few years ago.   I’ve probably watched this video a hundred times and it still cracks me up.  Enjoy the YouTube post below.

Anybody seen a Leprechaun say yeah!!!!!!!!

For those unfamiliar with this story** this was a real news story that aired on WPMI in Mobile a few years ago about the commotion that was caused in the Crighton community over some alleged sightings of a creature that was described as a leprechaun in a tree.  The brilliance of this piece is the fact that it’s unclear whether this is a well orchestrated joke or whether the people actually believe there is a leprechaun living in a tree. The video went viral and resulted in songs, T-Shirts, and webpages in it’s honor. To date this is my all time favorite viral video.

** What kind of rock were you living under back in 2006 when this came out????

4 Responses to “In Honor of St. Patricks Day – Revisiting the Leprechaun”

  1. I have to ask you a question. I too live in mobile. I was curious. Do you know what road they are talking about. My grandaddy used to live on Union Avenue about 20 years ago. I was curious if it was near his house. I have never been able to find what street it was on! Just curious! Thanks!

    • I wish I knew the exact street this took place on. I will try to research this because I would like to know too. Next time I go home to visit I may have to drive through the neighborhood and see if I can see the Leprechaun for myself!.

  2. How is Saint Patrick’s day different from Martin Luther King Day?

    On Saint Patrick’s day people miss they were Irish!

  3. Fallible Sage Says:

    This might be one of the funniest things I’ve seen on line. You should be proud that real life is parodying parody in Mobile… I felt like I was watching something on the onion.
    You’re especially killing me with the graphic depicting dude with the leprechaun hat. LMAO!

Leave a Reply

