In 2009 I resolve to…..

I’m not really one for making New Year’s resolutions…well that’s sort of a lie…I usually mean to make them but I forget to until the year is well on it’s way and it’s therefore kind of pointless to call them New Year’s Resolutions…. But this year is still has the new car smell so I still have an opportunity to get a perceived fresh start.  So before 2009’s engine gets hot I’m making a few resolutions. I might even try to keep them. 

1) I resolve to stop procrastinating…. as much.

This one will be a tough one because I don’t always view the built in stall time I give myself before I start on an unpleasant task as procrastination per se. I see it more as a pre-reward for actually deciding to do the unpleasant task in question. This year I will try saving the reward until the end and see how that goes.  I didn’t get off to a great start on this one though because I meant to write this blog on Jan 1st….

2) I resolve to not stare at people as much …. unless they are asking for it

This will also be a tough one for me because I have a habit of ogling people as though they can’t see me ogling them. This stems from an invisibility complex I had as a child that I have yet to shake. It’s not because I’m attracted to them or because I think they’re ugly. It’s just because I think people are interesting. A note to anyone I have ogled in the past: Please don’t take it personally. I promise it was not.

3) I resolve to be on time for something every week.

Not saying I’ll always be on time, or what I’ll be on time for, but my chronic tardiness is unacceptable. If nothing else I want to break the cycle of being late to pretty much everything.

4) I resolve to shop less…..or at least when I do shop only buy what I actually really need or really really want. 

Another tough one because I don’t even have to wait til I get off work to shop. The Internet is right there on my desk top (Not that I would shop during work hours or anything … but I’m just saying…) Perhaps to facilitate this resolution I should find a new hobby. One that doesn’t require me to shop for any equipment to do it.

5) Tackling resolution #4 will help me with resolution #5 which is to save much more.

I have a specific savings goal that I will just keep to myself.

6) I resolve to read more.

I really love to read anyway but I don’t always make enough time to do it because I get so distracted by the multitude of time wasters on the Internet.

7) I resolve to cook more.

I don’t really like eating out all that much, but I also don’t really like to cook. Honestly I don’t particularly love eating all that much either. This poses a bit of a conundrum since survival has this tricky requirement for eating. But I also hate being hungry. The lack of love for eating tends to get in the way of getting motivated to cook. But the hatred for being hungry drives me to eating food not prepared by my hands on a far too frequent basis. But I’m thinking that if I cook more my cooking will be better and I will look forward to eating it more….

8) I resolve to be friendlier.

I have a tendency in situations where friendliness is not required to just sit back and hope that the people don’t notice I’m there and therefore don’t expect any niceties out of me. I have also been accused of looking mean on occasions when I really wasn’t intending to look that way.

9) I resolve to be meaner sometimes.

I also have a tendency to be too nice when a swift direct (and sometimes kinda mean) response would save me a lot of trouble.

10) I resolve to laugh as often as possible….but not as often during inappropriate times.

Life is funny. The other night I sat next to a man while waiting on the subway who told me he was from Pluto. He crashed landed here when he was 3 years old. And he has the special powers to have sex with a woman without taking her clothes off. Most people would have promptly found another place to sit for the 5 minute wait. But I think my life is richer because I took the opportunity to listen to his story and laugh about it once he was no longer in ear shot.

The first part of this resolution is easy. But not laughing at the off rhythm white person trying to keep the beat at the mostly black church I attend will be a little harder.

I think this is a pretty solid list of resolutions. Hopefully I kept them realistic enough that I can keep them…but also set my sights high enough that I will be able to see measurable progress by 2010.

Happy New Year!!!!

Leave a Reply

