10 Days to Go

We’re down to the last 10 days of what has felt like the longest election season ever. (Maybe it was the longest ever if you factor in the states that had early primaries and the fact that the Hillary Clinton campaign started about 6 years ago). I will be glad to see the end of the negative campaigning, the endless debates about whether race is an issue in this campaign, and the non-stop coverage on the 24 hour news channels. But a part of me will miss some aspects of this election season. This is the first time in a long time that I can remember my mom being energized about politics. When my dad and I used to talk about political issues she never used to participate. But this year she has been right in the mix, often leading the discussion. The most exciting thing about this election season is the number of people who have never paid attention before who are paying attention now. I hope and pray that their attention is held at least until Nov 4 so we can seal this deal and move on to the victory party on Nov 5.

Okay seriously they told us not to get cocky before these chickens have hatched. And we can never underestimate the levels the other party will go to in order to get what they want. But if Obama doesn’t win this thing I’m so afraid of the impact it will have on the first time voters who got in this thing just so they could help him win. I’m also a little nervous about what could happen on the streets on Nov 5th. Either way I might need to put in my leave request now. But if he does win I expect that the victory parties will be off the HOOK! I might need to stock up on some bottles of champaign now before the rush.

2 Responses to “10 Days to Go”

  1. janelinda Says:

    I don’t believe Obama will win this thing. I also am not concerned about what will happen on the streets or to first time voters. They need to get a life about it. Disappointments are part of life as you know. God will control this thing since he is Sovereign.
    Our country is at war and Obama is not experienced enough or wise enough to make decisions for three hundred million people and even the world. He just doesn’t have the resume needed.
    His resume is not impressive as anyone who reads can know.
    The polls are not reliable and over 70% of the people surveyed say they prefer McCain to be commander in chief and he does have impressive credentials.
    I may be wrong, of course but I can’t see Obama being president in a White controlled world.
    No offense but we need to trust God and forget this Obama fad.
    Maybe 100 years from now a Black president, but not now in this world.

  2. Janelinda honey this is a free country and you are entitled to your own opinions no matter how flawed they might be. (Granted I am allowing you an extra priviledge by letting you post your negativity on my site) I don’t know what polls you’ve been hearing about where 70% of the people prefer McCain. I don’t know anyone personally who would even admit they wanted to vote for him. But then again I don’t live in the back woods, and over 50% of the people in the area I live in hold college degrees….so there may not be a representative sampling of Americas ignorant population. The fact that you see his being a black man as an issue in his ability to be the leader of this country lets me know that your comments are rooted in a bit of ignorance. At any rate you better learn how to see Obama being president and learn quick because his inaguration will be here before you know it! But don’t expect an invitation to my victory party.

Leave a Reply

