5 Things to Love about Valentines Day

In the past I’ve written posts that could be interpreted as hating on Cupid’s big day. A lot of those sentiments still apply, as Valentines Day still isn’t on my top five list of favorite holidays, but I no longer harbor any negative feelings about it. Honestly my overall feelings about the holiday were never truly negative. I just didn’t like the fact that this holiday makes so many people feel bad.  I also don’t like red and pink in combination.  That sentiment still stands. But as for the holiday as a whole I suppose that in my older age I’m more or less ambivalent.

So in the spirit of ambivalence I decided that to balance out any negative sentiments that could have been gleaned from past posts I’d write a totally positive Valentines Day post this year.

So I present to you 5 things to love about Valentines Day

Sales!

We’re in a recession and during a recession retailers try to find every gimmick they can come up with to get shoppers into their stores. Valentines day provides a perfect opportunity to draw both single people and people in relationships in to buy. Those in relationships are of course looking for gifts or possibly outfits for those Valentines dates.  Valentines day also comes with a bevy of single women who need retail therapy to help them cope with their lack of romance on this most romantic holiday. I’ve gotten a number of emails trying to lure me into the stores to get a little something special for the one I love the most…namely me (gotta love yourself before you can love anyone else right?).  Thus far I’ve resisted because I’m trying to be fiscally responsible but I’ve definitely been tempted.

Half price chocolates on the 15th

Who doesn’t love that? Also I read that chocolate creates a similar reaction in the brain to being in love. So even if  you aren’t in love you can get that loving feeling for half price on the 15th.

Text messages from people you rarely hear from

I’ve already gotten a few of them today. So what if some of them were mass texts…at least someone thought enough of me to leave me in their contacts list and make sure I wasn’t Happy Valentine’s Day textless today.

Cupid Gets His Day in the Limelight

Every holiday icon needs their day to shine. Santa gets the biggest holiday of the year, the Easter bunny gets his day…why shouldn’t cupid get a day to do his thing. Let that dude get a day to rock his diaper and sash and get in some target practice with the bow and arrow. And if you listen to 112 you know Cupid doesn’t lie so let’s listen to him for one day.

It’s a great excuse for people who aren’t that sappy (like me) to get their sap on

Even non saps like myself need an occasional outlet to do something on the mushy side. Sometimes it takes massive commercial exploitation to get it out of us.

Okay that’s all I’ve got for now…I hope everyone is having a wonderful Valentines Day…or at the very least makes it through the day without wanting to hit a double back tuck off a ledge.

P.S.

If anyone reading this is looking for a hint on what to get me or whether to get me anything…I like candy, cupcakes, not having to cook for myself, and hugs (from the right person…please no unsolicited random stranger hugs….I generally prefer not to be hugged or otherwise touched very much by strangers)….I’m so easy to please! (Hey I never said I was against receiving (or giving) gifts)

Happy Valentines Day All!

One Response to “5 Things to Love about Valentines Day”

  1. Happy Valentine’s Day. I just got through reading this blog and the one from last year. Very interesting and good information to put in my pocket.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

